The music of Danzas Sinfonia is created as a series of poetic moods invented in a single musical gesture. Blending one with the other, they create a path of dance related to evocations coming from the marine imaginary.

Each movement of the sea is associated with a dance: The tango and the swell (“houle” in French), Tanghoule, the Aber also called Ria and the largo, Ria Largo, as well as the Slow Flot.

Like Maurice Ravel’s Boat on the Ocean, this symphonic leeway in a single breath allows me the wandering, essential to the exploration and the imaginary.

The memory of childhood sensations that Chantal Thomas calls l’écume des rires (« the foam of laughter »), and the desire to lose oneself in the infinite blue immensity have guided the compositions of Danzas Sinfonia.


Jean Marie Machado piano-composition-conception
Jean Charles Richard direction d’orchestre
Sébastien Boisseau bass
Tom Caudelle saxhorn
Aubérie Dimpre percussion
Marion Frétigny percussion
Cécile Grenier alto
Stéphane Guillaume flutes
Didier Ithursarry accordion
Joachim Machado guitars
Guillaume Martigné cello
Séverine Morfin alto
Gwenola Morin alto
Elodie Pasquier clarinet
Renan Richard saxophone
François Thuillier tuba
Clara Zaoui cello

Tous droits réservés - Cantabile 2015 - contact(at)jeanmariemachado.com